Posted by: bkropf | May 13, 2008

Me Wee Pot O Gold Just Got Smaller

I think it is interesting how writing comes so easily some times and so hard others.  Lately I feel as if my writing has been really lame…I almost fall asleep reading my own stuff.  I need to get a grip.  This entry is going to be an attempt to recapture the joy of writing, I hope it doesn’t fail.
 
It was really nice to get out of Riga.  I we had to sit on a rickety bus driving over gravel roads for 3 hours before we got to Riga and then to the Airport.  I find it interesting that virtually every airport in Europe is an International Airport.  Each country is so small there is no need for domestic flights.
 
We arrived in Dublin, Ireland, the famed isle of glory.  Everyone always talks about ‘Ireland is amazing and Guinness is so much better there’ and ‘You need to catch a leprechaun and tickle him until you get his pot of gold’ or ‘I went to Ireland and it changed my life forever because now I only eat Lucky Charms’.  Naturally I was skeptical because everyone hypes Hawaii and I hate Hawaii:
 
Everyone always talks about how wonderful Hawaii is, with its amazing beaches and nice weather.  Growing up I never went to Hawaii but I was pretty sure I wouldn’t like it.  Not only because of its overly touristic appeal, but also because Maui is one of the premier honeymoon destinations on earth.  So when our family went to Maui a couple years ago Hawaii lived up to my expectations of a lame, touristy, hot, cliche, love nest where everyone is always clinging to each other.  I would rather go to almost any other state in the Union.  I will not go to Hawaii for my honeymoon!
 
We had to sit in Dublin a while to meet up with this girl people call Heather Stringyham (or something like that).  She is Tyler’s friend’s, fiance’s, roommate.  She was adventurous enough to take the quarter off from school to fly out and tour around Ireland with studly older men (Tyler and Myself that is). 
 
Riding in the cab to the hostel the driver chatted incoherently about various features of Dublin.  I couldn’t understand him so I focused all my energy on peering out the window to catch a brief glimpse of U2 walking down the street.
 
One thing I don’t like about hostels is showing up late at night when everyone is in bed.  Naturally I have to unpack before going to bed and it is dark so I usually end up spilling things all over the floor waking everyone up. 
 
Our plan for attacking Ireland: Rent a car in Dublin, Drive to Belfast for two nights, (London)Derry for two nights, Galway two nights, and then drop the car off in Dublin and stay there two nights.
 
I don’t know if you realized this bud Ireland is rediculously expensive!!! Case and point, a Kabab [for me a common CPI (Common Price Index)] in Berlin costs about $3 USD.  In Ireland they can be as expensive as $15 USD. SHAME!!!
Responses

  1. Not as boring. Youmust be home by now.

  2. Where are you and your updates? Did Tyler leave you in Ireland?

  3. Haha, Stringyham… oh gosh, I can’t wait till she sees that =)

  4. Did you really hate Hawaii?

  5. Hate is a strong word but I didn’t like it. I think you remember.

  6. Stringyham eh? Nice one…I just need to think of a nickname for you now! Correct me if I’m wrong but I don’t recall seeing U2 in Dublin…? I unfortunately have to agree that Hawaii isn’t all it has cracked up to be. I had some good times but have definitely seen better. I will actually have to give it another chance. It deserves one! Lets go sometime..haha


Leave a Reply

Categories

