Posted by: bkropf | April 29, 2008

Censorship and an Update

My last post was censored, at least until a later date.  I don’t know if you were one of the lucky few who were able to read the entry while it was briefly online, but either way, it is gone now. Oh how secretive!
 
Basically our trip has morphed into a mission trip.  For unmentioned reasons we have decided to leave Riga and move into the Latvian countryside to help build a church for a few days.  I spent most of today in a tiny little village swinging hammers building trusses for the roof.  The Skillsaw we were using lacked a blade guard so I got awfully close to cutting my leg off.  Tyler was nice and kept reminding me the blade was sharp and not covered.  I think today was probably the most danger we have been in.
 
It feels so nice to be working and helping out.  After six weeks of walking around observing things I am so glad to be able to help someone achieve a goal: To build something.
 
Driving out to the town where we were going to work, the guy driving us brought up Mars Hill (my church back home).  I am so surprised but he knows all about the church.  He and a group from his church here in Latvia download the podcast and vodcast each week.  It continually surprises me the people who listen to the sermons and follow the churches progresss.  I guess this is going to be a plug but check out the website at www.marshillchurch.org
 
It is late and we are getting up at 7am (I can’t believe it) to go complete the trusses.  I hope I can cope with a full day of work, haha.
 
PS – I did not like Riga at all
PPS – I have a new Economist Magazine so I am sure there is going to be much ranting soon
Responses

  1. Seems like you left a section out …e.g. how did you find a church to build on????? And then that whole first paragraph sure makes one curious!
    Please be careful! Mom

  2. Barney! I can’t wait for you to come back! We’re missing you here in the rainy, cold, snowy NW….Hope you are doing well! Now that I’ve joined this blogging world, I’m going to have to spend an afternoon reading all your posts…


Leave a Reply

Categories

