Posted by: bkropf | November 13, 2007

The Bitter South

I don’t think I have heard so much Nickleback in my life.  If I had to admit it, they are a guilty pleasure of mine but it is getting old.  Every time Rand-muffin and I are driving around, one of their songs comes screeching through our XM radio station.

While using the facilities at Jack and Nicks BBQ (an amazing restaurant) it struck me as funny that the splash reducer in the urnal had the slogan, “High Respect for Hygiene.” I want complete respect for hygiene in restaurants. 

Randy and I also went to the Atlanta Aquarium this morning.  I think it is supposed to be one of the larger in the world.  It was a little frustrating though because this guy in a wheel chair keep crashing into me while standing in line.  The aquarium was really fun and I’ll probably be putting up some pictures.

We went down to the capital buildings and poked around.  It really wasn’t that nice.  If I had to be honest, Atlanta has been my least favorite city thus far.  We were reading these plaques on capital building describing the battles of the Civil War and I started laughing because they sounded so bitter and resentful.  I asked a guy in Charleston how the South viewed the Civil War and he said many are still bitter because many feel that the South was prosperous and doing well until the ‘Northern Aggression’ leveled them and they have never fully recovered.

We tried a Waffle House this morning to see what all the hype was about.  It was really good yet I am confused by the chain.  It looks like every store spontaneously appeared in the 80’s and have not upgraded since. 

We went downtown to find Underground Atlanta.  Turns out Underground Atlanta is a entirely different area of town than we were expecting.  Randy and I had a long discussion about why we feel uncomfortable in different areas of town and if it was bad.  We didn’t come up with any answers but it is frustrating when as the only two white people walking around everyone asks you for money when there are tons of other people around and they don’t ask any of them for money, only us.   

My hair is ridiculously long and I can’t wait to cut it.  I find myself being startled often, when I see movement in my peripheral vision.  Then realize it is my hair sneaking into my vision.

Randy and I watched the Bachelor tonight:  Still dumb, Still entertaining. 

I think I’m going to look into getting a temp job in Dallas.  We leave tomorrow for New Orleans and we are both really excited for that. 

Responses

  1. Maybe Waffle House was looking to save some money on interior decor?

  2. Like the sneaky hair comments, but I’m wondering, wouldn’t Randy wait for 15 minutes while you dashed into one of those quick hair salon places and got it cut?


Leave a Reply

Categories

